Adoption Anxiety

09/22/2010 15:15

Hi Aiko,
I recently moved into my best friends house with their family. I visit my parents and my siblings one in a while and still love them greatly. Here's where things get hard. I love the family I am living with and they love me too. My best friend already considers me his brother and they consider me their son. They also want to adopt me and to be under their last name to. It would help considering I am permanently staying here. The problem is telling my parents that I love them yet I want to accept the adoption and change to their last name, without making them feel upset. What can I do?

-Copey

Dear Copey,

Constantly express your love to your parents, so they know you care. Tell them it is reasonable to change your last name, because you live with your friends. If you think they will offended, try to combine your current last name and your new family's last name with a hyphen (-)(ie: Jensen-Smith, Ortz-Lytle)

Sincerely,

Aiko

Back

What's your advice?

No comments found.